Look inside the book!
File downloads (Adobe Acrobat - pdf format)

15 Sample Pages
plus Index

(51 Kb)

Book Covers
(534 Kb)

 



About the author:

Karen L. DeFelice and
her two boys deal with
pervasive neurological
and sensory integration
dysfunctions, and have
seen dramatic
improvement in their
conditions through the
use of enzyme therapy.
Karen has a Masters in
Science, and works in
education and the
sciences.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This project comes from
families helping families
and individuals supporting
individuals.

Donations will be made
to charities focusing on
helping needy families
dealing with autism and
other neurological
conditions.

The author does not have
any financial affiliation
with any supplement
manufacturer.

 


Amazon.com reader reviews of

Enzymes for Autism and other
Neurological Conditions: A Practical Guide

Karen L. DeFelice
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Amazon.com reviews

Fascinating journey and learning experience in one book, January 13, 2003
Reviewer: A reader from USA
This book was written with an intelligence, wit, and clarity that is very rare for such a technical subject. Don't be fooled by the title. The book covers autism, PDD, ADHD, Sensory integration disorder, irritable bowel syndrome, and many other neurological and gastrointestinal conditions. The author teaches rather than preaches on the science, experiences, and the how-to of using long overlooked digestive enzymes to help with many related health conditions. I went away with the knowledge I needed to understand the options and make my own informed decisions. Read it before you start any biomedical or behaviorial program. And if you have already started a program, read it so you can finally understand what is really going on, and how it can be improved with enzymes.

Excellent for professionals; very practical, realistic, January 6, 2003
Reviewer: Linda Nichols, School Principal from Missouri, USA
As an educator and grandparent of a child with an Asperger diagnosis, I found Karen DeFelice's book to be invaluable in helping to understand how enzymes work and why they are so successful for many children. Her straightforward manner of explaining a complicated subject was refreshing. In addition, her reflections on the challenges an adult with an Asperger
diagnosis faces, provided valuable insight into the challenges ahead. Those of us who have experienced the positive changes in a family member as a result of the Nutraceutical enzymes are grateful for her contribution.

Very easy to understand, January 2, 2003
Reviewer: Patricia from PA ,United States
I found the information in this book very easy to understand. It put the pieces of the puzzle together that were missing for me so I could finally understand the whole picture of why food affects my child. I could clearly make a mental picture of the digestive system in my mind and how it works by the way it was described in this book, and that helped me a lot. I have purchased extra copies of this book to give to family members and friends so they too can understand how this is all affecting my child.

Great book, easy to understand and very helpful, January 1, 2003
Reviewer: Julie from Green Bay, wi United States
I wish there would of been a book out like this 5 years ago, Karen DeFelices book Enzymes for Autism and other Neurological Conditions is great and I have found so much valuable information.Having a child with Autism I understood her struggle and need to find anything to help her children. The book is so well written and I am so grateful that she was able to write about her struggle and her findings and put them into a book that everyone can understand..I am able to now go to my daughters doctor and go over different approaches I feel will benefit her..Thanks Karen for the wonderful gift you gave to many..

Very Worthwhile, December 28, 2002
Reviewer: A
reader from USA
This book covers a range of applications of enzyme therapy, which is not a topic I was in a rush to read about in the past, but this book was excellent. The use of enzymes for autism is described in great detail, with many examples from real-life families. I was pleased to find the book made the subject interesting and easy to understand, even with all that research included.

As a parent, I especially enjoyed reading about the families that participated in the creation of this book and how their lives were changed through using certain enzymes. I would recommend this book for anyone investigating ways to help with neurological conditions, including autism.

Approving Parent

enzymes really work!, December 28, 2002
Reviewer:
andrew levin from tasmania australia
i have been using enzymes for over a year now and they give sustainable, greatly improved neural functioning and solve a lot of digestive issues. a portion of the enzymes taken also get in
the blood where they have important functions as well, promoting
healing, general well being and also having pronounced anti-cancer activity.... indeed enzyme shortfalls with aging are a major factor in cancer since enzymes encourage cell turnover and help break up potentially tumourous clusters.

autism, aspergers syndrome, add, spd are in reality conditions of neural starvation(except perhaps for brain viral infection....) and you cannot remedy this in any way except by improving the nutrient uptake to the brain and this i think is what the book is about.

a sunbeam is a world made cretinous by medical worship. parents
with children on autistic spectrum will greatly benefit by the information in this book and also themselves.....
drugs use by and large has long term toxicity issues that outweigh any short term benefit...enzymes and supplements are metabolically safe and give promise and hope for sustained future functioning.

Totally WOW book., December 8, 2002
Reviewer: A
reader from in USA
This is a unique book alright in that it brings a lot of aspects of the biology and gut issues together in an easy to understand way. It is totally WOW. It is something I think everyone who has any type of neurological issue or gastrointestinal problem should read, even if you are not interested in enzymes. If you are interested in enzymes, it gives very practical guidelines on what enzymes are, how they work, and how to start them. Since enzymes occur in all foods and in your body anyway all the time, this book is very helpful in understanding how enzymes function in digestion and overall health. Like many people, I just couldn't put it down. It was so captivating and appealing.

It was much more helpful than all the other 'technical' books I've read. Even the research was presented in an interesting way. I finally understood how it all worked together. It makes sense now. I had no idea so much was known about enzyme therapy and how extensively enzymes are used.

And it was even humorous. The author seemed to spell out what a lot of us are thinking and feeling inside. I especially appreciated that different situations were given and how enzymes were used by different families, instead of the rigid one size fits all you see with a lot of therapies. It's wonderful: one book and one alternative that is geared to making our life easier without a huge expense. Definitely worth reading.

Is There an Alternative to Gluten Free/Casein Free?, December 5, 2002
Reviewer:
Liane Gentry Skye from Myrtle Beach, SC USA
Karen DeFelice's "Enzymes for Autism and Other Neurological Conditions" presents a heartwarming story of the marked cognitive, social and sensory improvements of her son's with Autism Spectrum Disorders after the introduction of dietary enzymes to their supplement programs. As an added bonus, Ms. Defelice employs her background as a scientist to share the vast research, solid science and biomedical good sense of utilizing enzymes as either:

-A replacement for the Gluten Free/Casein Free Diet for individuals wihtout celiac disease.
-A valuable tool to have on hand for the inevitable infractions on the GF/CF diet
-A second chance option for children who have tried the Gluten free/casien free option, but have had little to no success. This is where my children fit in.

Ms. Defelice's concise "to the point" writing style makes absorbing the scientific principals and vast research behind dietary enzymes "user friendly" for the layperson.

As the parent of two boys with Autism Spectrum Disorders, I came into enzyme therapy with great skepticism. Time proved my suspicions wrong. Moving into dietary enzyme therapy finally gave them much needed relief from harrowing, painful GI symptoms, head pain and sensory issues when nothing else could.

The cognitive gains I've seen in my children and their abilities to benefit from educational therapies after beginning dietary enzymes several months ago have been nothing short of incredible.

As a parent, the peace of mind that has come with knowing that my children are no longer in pain has been the answer to a million and one prayers.

This is a book that every family who cares about an individual with autism should take a look at. There is life--and hope-- beyond GF/CF, even for children who are well beyond their early childhoods.

Liane Gentry Skye
author
Turn Around, Bright Eyes, Snapshots From A Voyage out of Autism's Silence

Must have book for Autism, November 22, 2002
Reviewer: A
reader from escanaba, mi United States
This book is well-written. Topic sounds dry, but writing is enjoyable and easy to understand. I couldn't put it down. If you know someone with a neurological disorder get this for them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Questions, concerns, and comments can be addressed to the author:
kjorn@thundersnow.com

515-254-9257 (phone)


Disclaimer

The information contained in this book is not intended to diagnose, treat, prevent, or cure any disease, or to provide specific medical advice. Its intention is solely to present an enjoyable story, provide information, and education. If you have any questions about the relationship between nutrition, supplements, and your health, seek the advice of a qualified health practitioner. The reader and associated health professionals are responsible for evaluating the risks of any therapy reviewed in this book. Those responsible made every effort possible to thoroughly research the accuracy of the information and assume no responsibility for errors, inaccuracies, or omissions. Digestive enzymes are an unregulated dietary supplement classified as a safe food by the Food and Drug Association in the United States. The author has no financial interests with any enzyme or supplement manufacturer or distributor. The organizations and companies mentioned herein do not specifically endorse any particular therapy or product.